Jews' Next Dor

Congregation Beth David's Young Adult Group for Jewish 20 & 30 Somethings

My Favorite and Least Favorite Jewish Athletes

Posted by ishtov on June 28, 2007

Per Squeedle’s and Oyster’s request to add some Jewish flavor to my NBA post, here we go. The only Jewish NBA player I can think of was Danny Schayes, a third string center for the Phoenix Suns back in the day. He wasn’t that remarkable though, so he’s not my favorite. I guess I would have to say that my favorite Jewish basketball player is Tamir Goodman (a.k.a. the Jewish Jordan). This article doesn’t sync up with my memory, but I recall him leaving Maryland because they didn’t accept him not playing on Shabbat.

My least favorite Jewish athlete is Gabe Kapler of the Boston Red Sox for playing ball on Yom Kippur. I seem to recall him tearing up his knee rounding second base in a game the following season, putting him out of commission for the rest of the season. I don’t mean to sound mean-spirited, but he had it coming. You don’t blow off the Day of Atonement.

Leave a comment